The Revolution of Bernice Summerfield (1.1)

Big Finish Bernice Summerfield Box Set

This story is a bit convoluted and is really a sign of what’s to come in this box set of Benny stories. There is a lot of confusion and strangeness going on that isn’t revealed until later on in the story. It’s fun to listen to, that’s for sure! Trying to figure out what is going on is an exercise in futility as I didn’t see the ultimate reveal coming.

Benny is getting drunk in a bar where Renk, the bartender and owner of the theme bar is watching her. She wakes up to Inquisitor Xavier coming for her, then goes up on the wall with the Doctor (we discover), and after the Inquisitor leaves, the Doctor and Benny escape into the world. Apparently Benny crossed the scientists by saying that this world was created by breath from a snake’s nose. And miracles regularly happen when Benny or the Doctor asks for them, while they’re being chased by the Inquisitor, the natives, the archeologists Benny came with, and snake things.

Ultimately, the Doctor and Benny arrive in a cave where a friendly snake-guy is found, Renk shows up and explains the plot. He’s quite the sneaky guy with an Australian accent, which makes it easier to take somehow. And the explanation, though good, is a bit disappointing. And off Benny goes off to her next adventure, looking for Ace!

Lisa Bowerman, Sylvester McCoy, Sophie Aldred, John Finnemore (Steven), Miles Jupp (Inquisitor Xavier), Alex Jordan (Renk Van Magnastein), Matthew Woodcock (Robots), Nicola Bryant (Professor Geller)

Writers: Nev Fountain

Director: Scott Handcock

Release: June 2014

Laura Vilensky 2019